Faculty Council


Prof. Dr. med. H.-J. Rothkötter

The Faculty Council is an institution of the Faculty of Medicine and operates on the basis of § 2 HMG LSA.
Pursuant to HMG LSA, the elected Faculty Council has the following tasks:

  • election of the Dean and Vice-Deans,
  • approval of the annual financial statements and notes on the annual financial statements.

In addition to this, the tasks of the extended Faculty Council are also defined. All university lecturers are entitled to vote on the following decisions:

  • regarding the formation of appointment committees,
  • resolutions regarding proposed appointments,
  • resolutions regarding examination & study regulations and graduation & post-doctoral teaching qualification regulations,
  • resolutions regarding the academic programmes offered,
  • resolutions regarding proposals for the appointment of honorary and visiting professors
  • resolutions on evaluation results and their implementation,
  • when proposing candidates for the election of the Dean,
  • for the post-doctoral teaching qualification process.



Dr. Heidrun Hermecke

Tel.: +49 (0)391 671 5754
Fax: +49 (0)391 671 5749


Elected members of the Faculty Council (period of office 01.07.2012 to 30.06.2013)

 The following 23 elected members belong to the Faculty Council:

  • 12 university lecturers
  • 4 academic staff members 
  • 4 students
  • 2 other full-time members of staff
  • equality officer

University lecturers

Prof. Dr. Hermann-Josef Rothkötter  Institute of Anatomy
Prof. Dr. Peter Mertens University Clinic for Nephrology & Hypertensive Disorders
Prof. Dr. Burkhart Schraven  Institute of Clinical and Molecular Immunology
Prof. Dr. Christoph Lohmann University Orthopaedic Clinic
Prof. Dr. Bernt-Peter Robra  Institute of Social Medicine and Health Economics
Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Braun-Dullaeus University Clinic for Cardiology, Angiology and Pneumology
Prof. Dr. Thomas Fischer University Clinic for Haematology & Oncology
Prof. Dr. Harald Gollnick University Clinic for Dermatology and Venerology
Prof. Dr. Klaus Dieter Fischer Institute of Biochemistry and Cell Biology
Prof. Dr. Herbert Schwegler Institute of Anatomy
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Jorch University Paediatric Clinic
Prof. Dr. Raimund Firsching  University Clinic for Neurosurgery


Academic staff members

PD Dr. Dörthe Jechorek Institute of Pathology
Dr. Klaus Vogler  Institute of Pathology
PD Dr. Ulrich Vorwerk University Clinic for Ear, Nose and Throat Medicine
Dr. Ilona Päge Institute of Clinical Chemistry and Pathobiochemistry



Felix Mertin
Anne Bretschneider
Sven Hartmann
Oliver Normann


Full-time staff members

Dipl.-Phys. Sigmar Beust Research Unit
Dr. Katrin Werwick Dean of Studies Office


Equality officer

Dr. Sabine Franke Institute of Pathology




Last Modification: 28.09.2017 - Contact Person:

Sie können eine Nachricht versenden an: Webmaster